< Back to press release archive

28 November 2014

New Studio album: II

Following the great reaction to their self-titled debut in 2012, the follow-up from DEVIL’S TRAIN is here. Again they combine the heavy sound of the 80s with the classic hard rock attitude of the 70s, but DEVIL’S TRAIN have refined and enriched their style on “II“ without compromising any of their principles. By doing that, the international quartet stay hard and heavy, but still emotional and, above all, honest – DEVIL’S TRAIN are 100% authentic. The line up is R.D. Liapakis – vocals (Mystic Prophecy, Valley’s Eve), Jörg Michael – drums (Ex. Running Wild, Saxon, Stratovarius), Jari Kainulainen – bass (Masterplan, Ex. Stratovarius, Evergrey), Lakis Ragazas – guitar (Mystic Prophecy).

“All of us love this bluesy stuff, which the brilliant ‘Badlands‘, ‘Tesla’, ‘Cinderella’, or ‘Tangier’ used to play”, says Liapakis. “You’ll find hints of it in many of our songs. Of course, they were also found on our debut, but not as prominent as on this one. It just felt right to put more emphasis on it in songs like ‘Can You Feel‘ or ‘Suffocated‘. The most radical song in this matter is surely ‘Mr. Jones‘, which is definitely one of my favorites on the record.”

For all this awareness of tradition, DEVIL’S TRAIN is no retro-act; adding traces of stoner rock to their songs. “That’s one element we enjoy very much. I think that’s one of the details contributing to the fact that we are not only addressing established rock lovers, but also welcoming loads of younger fellows in our audience”, says the singer cheerfully.

As on the first record, DEVIL’S TRAIN prove themselves excellent songwriters and composers, but also to be brilliant interpreters of all time rock classics. This time, the musicians adapt Led Zeppelin’s monumental ‘Immigrant Song’ and the biker-hymn ‘Born To Be Wild’, making them their own.

Follow this link to the first video ‘Hollywood Girl’:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFv6PN36bsY&feature=youtu.be


1. Down On You 2. Hollywood Girl 3. Gimme Love 4. Mr. Jones 5. Can You Feel 6. Rock Forever

7. Let’s Shake It 8. Girl Like You 9. Born To Be Wild 10. You And Me 11. Thunderstorm

12. Suffocated 13. Immigrant Song (Bonus Track)

Produced by R.D. Liapakis ( Mystic Prophecy, Suicidal Angels, Eldritch, Steel Prophet) at Propehcy Studios Empten, Germany // Mixed by Fredrik Nordström (Hammerfall, In Flames, Arch Enemy, Dimmu Borgier)

at Fredman Studios in Sweden


For more information or to request an interview please contact Chris Hewlett PR on chris@chrishewlett.com or 0845 601 2833

< Back to press release archive

Follow ChrisHewlettPR on Twitter