< Back to press release archive

7 August 2014

More 2014 dates

Steve Harley, the original Cockney Rebel, returns with an intimate and atmospheric tour of the UK running from 11th September to 7 November 2014. Steve plans to play at least one title from each of the thirteen albums he has released since Cockney Rebel began, with all the greatest hits included. This tour comes hot on the heels of Steve’s critically acclaimed shows with orchestra and choir, in prestigious venues including The Royal Albert Hall, which featured performances of his debut The Human Menagerie album and the influential The Psychomodo.

Whilst some of these shows will feature the full rock band format, some will be acoustic - Steve will be accompanied on stage by his Cockney Rebel band-mate of long-standing, Barry Wickens, on violin, guitar and vocals, plus James Lascelles on piano and percussion. The set will be built around all-time favourites like Mr Soft, Judy Teen, Mr Raffles, Sebastian, and of course the ever-popular Make Me Smile (Come Up And See Me), all blended in with more recent tracks from critically-acclaimed albums The Quality Of Mercy and Stranger Comes To Town.

“The rock band sets are fantastic; loud and energetic. But I like to have the best of both worlds and explore the music in many ways. Playing the songs in an acoustic format gives me time and space to enjoy every second. And we improvise, which is always a big excitement for any musician. We can loosen off the arrangements and really explore. It gets pretty exciting during the acoustic sets,” Steve Harley.

UK DATES 2014
Thu 11 Sept York Barbican* 0844 854 2757 / yorkbarbican.co.uk
Fri 12 Sept Chester Live Rooms* 01244 317171 / seetickets.com
Sat 13 Sept Hardwick Live Festival* hardwicklive.co.uk
Weds 8 Oct Pocklington Arts Centre 01759 301 547 /
Thur 9 Oct Pocklington Arts Centre www.pocklingtonartscentre.co.uk
Sun 12 Oct Milton Keynes The Stables 01908 280800 / boxoffice@stables.org
Mon 13 Oct Hebden Bridge Trades Club 01422 845265 / wegottickets.com
Tues 14 Oct Wolverhampton Robin 2 01902 401211 / therobin.co.uk
Fri 17 Oct Manchester The Lowry 0843 208 6000
Sat 18 Oct Gt.Yarmouth Vauxhall Holiday Park* vhpweekenders.co.uk
Mon 20 Oct Evesham The Regal 01386 421007 / boxoffice@theregal.ac
Tues 21 Oct New Brighton Floral Pavilion Theatre 0151 666 0000
Weds 22 Oct Glasgow Arches 0141 565 1000 / thearches.co.uk
Thur 23 Oct Glasgow Arches 0141 565 1000 / thearches.co.uk
Sat 25 Oct Pontardawe Arts Centre 01792 863722 / pontardaweartscentre.com
Sun 26 Oct Shoreham Ropetackle Centre 01273 464440/ropetacklecentre.co.uk
Tues 4 Nov Hull City Hall* 01482 300 300 / hullcc.gov.uk/hullcityhall
Fri 7 Nov Wakefield Warehouse 23* 01924 724523 / seetickets.com
* Full Band, All Other Shows Acoustic Trio

These 2014 dates are an unmissable chance for fans to connect with Steve Harley. MOJO said simply, “Harley creates rock songs that are proud, lyrical and full of yearning.” As Ents24 noted, “His live gigs are a joyous mix of the old and the new.”

For more information please contact Chris Hewlett on 0845 601 2833 or email chris@chrishewlett.com

< Back to press release archive

Follow ChrisHewlettPR on Twitter