< Back to press release archive

29 July 2014

New studio album Secret Ladder

Christopher Cross, the multi-Grammy award winning singer songwriter and global performer, will be releasing new studio album “Secret Ladder” on September 15th, 2014 on earMUSIC. Cross made music history in 1980 with his self-titled debut album, which won five Grammy Awards, including—for the first time ever—the four most prestigious awards: Record of the Year (for the single “Sailing”), Album of the Year, Song of the Year (also for “Sailing”), and Best New Artist.

Thirty years later, Cross continues his recording and performing career with his highly anticipated new album, “Secret Ladder” which addresses contemporary concerns head-on including his reflections on life and romance and the issues people find themselves addressing in 2014 with a group of new songs that Cross recorded in his home state of Texas.

A one of a kind musician, Cross is well known for his exquisite song arrangements, instantly recognizable voice and great guitar riffs. He has long been able to rise above the ever changing pop sounds with classic unforgettable songs which has earned him a loyal fan base around the world.

The 13 new tracks on “Secret Ladder”, mostly written with his longtime collaborator Rob Meurer, continue the exploration of adult subject matter broached in his preceding album “Doctor Faith” (2011). With his trademark sound and his even more recognizable voice, Christopher Cross still is one of the most exceptional songwriters and singers with countless songs that stand the test of time while always showing artistic growth. “Secret Ladder” clearly shows off artists who have informed Cross’ work for years including Steely Dan, Joni Mitchell, Randy Newman and others.

“My passion and commitment to music haven’t diminished a bit and I make no apologies for exploring mature subjects,” says Cross, whose classic hits – including “Ride Like the Wind,” from Christopher Cross, and the Oscar-winning "Arthur's Theme (Best That You Can Do)" from the film starring Liza Minelli and Dudley Moore which both remain staples on radio to this day.

Yet Cross remains a truly spiritual artist. The conceptual album cover art, by photographer/graphic designer Sandrine Lee, expressly suggests a Magritte painting in its depiction of human figures climbing the fretboard of an upright acoustic guitar surrounded by a blue sky filled with clouds. The image was inspired by fellow artist Joni Mitchell’s lyric in “For the Roses”—“And pour your simple sorrow / To the sound hole and your knee.”

“I write my songs on the guitar, and that’s how I realize my spirituality” says Cross. “Music is the source, the wellspring. The people coming out of the guitar’s sound hole on the cover are climbing the ladder to a higher plane.”

As always, Cross enlisted the finest support musicians, including bassist Will Lee (of the Fab Faux and Late Night with David Letterman), drummer Keith Carlock (Steely Dan, Toto, Sting, Jon Mayer), guitarist Eric Johnson, saxophonist David Mann, and vocalists Michael McDonald (five time Grammy winner and former member of The Dooby Brothers) and Jeff Foskett (Brian Wilson’s musical director).

With its top production arrangements and some of America’s top musicians, Christopher Cross is once again able to show his full potential as a songwriter and a talented musician who continues to create and explore music that reaches people while reflecting his exquisite sense about how he sees the world around him.

To listen to the song “I Don’t See It Your Way”, click here: http://youtu.be/MNY1dzXrcUc.

1. Reverend Blowhard
2. I Don‘t See It Your Way
3. The Times I Need You
4. Island Of Anger
5. V
6. Experiment
7. Simple
8. Wonderland
9. Light The World
10. With Me Now
11. Got To Be A Better Way
12. A Letter To My Children



For more info / interview requests contact Chris Hewlett on 0845 601 2833 or chris@chrishewlett.com

< Back to press release archive

Follow ChrisHewlettPR on Twitter